Europeans on FIRE – Jirka


In our Europeans on FIRE series, we interview people living in Europe who don’t blog to find out what makes them tick. Our aim is to give non-bloggers a voice and hear what they have to say. We hope you enjoy hearing from people you’ve never heard of before!

If you’d like to take part in Europeans on FIRE, contact us at hello[at]firehub[dot]eu and we’ll send you the details.

You can find a full list of our Europeans on FIRE interviews here.

Europeans on FIRE Profile Card Jirka 2 exp

Please briefly introduce yourself to FIREhub.eu readers


My name is Jirka Cerny, I am from the Czech Republic, 26 years old, and currently without a job. I have my own blog and community for sharing dreams with strangers. Furthermore, I try to enter the world of film. 

What is your backstory?


I stumbled upon FI quite early in my job life (probably three months after I started working full-time). Even before I entered the job world, I asked myself the question: ‘What am I going to earn money for?’ a hundred times. What am I going to do with my savings? Buy a house and then pay my mortgage for the next 30 years? I felt that this was not the answer I wanted to have, and therefore I dug deeper and found FI. Since I had always saved money, I did not have to change my lifestyle, I just had to start investing my money.

Having spent half a year in the corporate world, I started to realize that I couldn’t wait the next 15 years and ‘stick it out’. Therefore, I decided to quit working after ten months.

Why do you want to reach Financial Independence?


I want to reach FI because I do not want to work for money. I want to have my time and do things I love without any financial pressure. I do intend to work probably even more than I do now; however, I do not want to have money in my equation.

How much is your “enough”?


In my opinion I will be FI once I reach a recurring income of €1500 per month.

Where are you on the road to Financial Independence?


I finished my first turbulent year of my path towards FI and realized that I cannot save my way there with a job I do not enjoy. Therefore, I am now trying to figure out what I want, and once I have an income again I will continue saving and investing.

Currently, I live out of my savings with support from my family and some crypto investments. This means that my life costs me only about €150 per month, which I can sustain for a while.

My wish is that I will reach FI when I am 35 years old.

What do you want to do with your life once you reach Financial Independence?


Once I am FI, I want to work even more on my projects (films, community for sharing dreams) and hopefully also do more volunteering. Simply doing what I love, and not caring about money.

What was your biggest financial mistake?


Investing into a crypto Ponzi scheme and losing over €1000.

What advice would you give to your younger self?


Start investing at an early age.

What’s your wildest dream?


That everyone will be able to share their dreams with strangers, and this way we will be able to reach all our dreams.

What is your favourite just-for-fun activity that brings you joy?


Helping people to find their path towards their dreams.